resources/faq/compare-ssl-certificates-ev-vs-ov SOLUTIONS D’IDENTITÉ DES UTILISATEURS

Signature, certificats et horodatage

Qu’est-ce qu’un certificat numérique ?

Afin de lier les clés publiques à leur utilisateur associé (propriétaire de la clé privée), les infrastructures de clés publiques (PKI) utilisent des certificats numériques. Les certificats numériques sont les informations d’identification utilisés pour vérifier l’identité des utilisateurs lors d’une transaction. Tout comme un passeport atteste de l’identité d’une personne en tant que citoyen d’un pays, le certificat numérique établit l’identité des utilisateurs au sein de l’écosystème. Puisque les certificats numériques sont utilisés pour vérifier l’identité du destinataire ou du signataire des informations, il est indispensable de protéger leur authenticité et leur intégrité pour préserver la fiabilité du système.

Qu’est-ce qu’une autorité de certification ?

Une autorité de certification (AC) est le composant central d’une infrastructure à clé publique (PKI) responsable de l’établissement d’une chaîne de confiance hiérarchique. Les AC émettent les informations d’identification numériques utilisées pour certifier l’identité des utilisateurs. Comme les autorités de certification sous-tendent la sécurité d’une infrastructure à clé publique et des services qu’elles prennent en charge, elles peuvent faire l’objet d’attaques ciblées et sophistiquées. Pour limiter le risque d’attaques contre les autorités de certification, il convient de mettre en place des contrôles physiques et logiques ainsi que des mécanismes de renforcement de sécurité comme les modules matériels de sécurité (HSM) afin de garantir l’intégrité d’une PKI.

Qu’est-ce que la signature de code ?

Dans la cryptographie à clé publique, la signature de code est une utilisation spécifique des signatures numériques basées sur des certificats qui permet à une organisation de vérifier l’identité de l’éditeur du logiciel et de certifier que ce dernier n’a pas été modifié depuis sa publication.

Les signatures numériques fournissent un processus cryptographique éprouvé aux éditeurs de logiciels et aux équipes de développement internes pour protéger leurs utilisateurs finaux contre les dangers de cybersécurité, y compris les menaces persistantes avancées (APT), telles que Duqu 2.0. Les signatures numériques garantissent l’intégrité et l’authenticité des logiciels. Elles permettent aux utilisateurs finaux de vérifier l’identité des éditeurs tout en validant simultanément que le package d’installation n’a pas été modifié depuis sa signature. Tous les systèmes d’exploitation modernes recherchent et valident des signatures numériques lors de l’installation, et les avertissements concernant du code non signé peuvent amener les utilisateurs finaux à abandonner l’installation.

Qu’est-ce que l’horodatage ?

L’horodatage est un complément de plus en plus précieux aux pratiques de signature numérique, permettant aux organisations de consigner le moment où un élément numérique, tel qu’un message, un document, une transaction ou un logiciel, a été signé. Pour certaines applications, l’horodatage de la signature numérique est essentiel, comme dans le cas des transactions boursières, de l’émission de billets de loterie et de certaines procédures judiciaires. Même si la notion de temps n’est pas une composante intrinsèque de l’application, l’horodatage est utile pour la tenue de registres et les processus d’audit. En effet, il fournit un mécanisme permettant de prouver que le certificat numérique était valide au moment où il a été utilisé. L’importance croissante des solutions de signature numérique a créé une demande correspondante pour l’horodatage, de sorte que de nombreux logiciels, tels que Microsoft Office, prennent en charge de telles capacités.

L’importance de la sécurité

Si l’horodatage doit apporter une réelle valeur ajoutée, alors il doit être sécurisé.

Risques associés à un horodatage non sécurisé

  • Lorsque les processus numériques ne sont pas fiables, des traces papier coûteuses peuvent être générées pour sauvegarder les registres électroniques.
  • En manipulant l’horloge d’un ordinateur, un attaquant peut facilement compromettre un processus d’horodatage basé sur un logiciel, invalidant ainsi l’ensemble du processus de signature.
  • Les processus d’horodatage ou de signature numérique non sécurisés peuvent exposer les entreprises à des problèmes de conformité et à des défis juridiques.
  • Les utilisateurs peuvent toujours accéder aux clés et certificats de signature privés, même après leur révocation. Sans horodatage sécurisé, les organisations sont incapables de prouver si des signatures ont été produites avant ou après la révocation d’un certificat.

En savoir plus sur l’horodatage des certificats de signature de code.

Signing, Certificates and Stamping

 

What is a Digital Certificate?

In order to bind public keys with their associated user (owner of the private key), public key infrastructures (PKIs) use digital certificates. Digital certificates are the credentials that facilitate the verification of identities between users in a transaction. Much as a passport certifies one’s identity as a citizen of a country, the purpose of a digital certificate is to establish the identity of users within the ecosystem. Because digital certificates are used to identify the users to whom encrypted data is sent, or to verify the identity of the signer of information, protecting the authenticity and integrity of the certificate is imperative in order to maintain the trustworthiness of the system.

 

What is a Certificate Authority?

A Certificate Authority (CA) is the core component of a public key infrastructure (PKI) responsible for establishing a hierarchical chain of trust. CAs issue the digital credentials used to certify the identity of users. CAs underpin the security of a PKI and the services they support, and therefore can be the focus of sophisticated targeted attacks. In order to mitigate the risk of attacks against Certificate Authorities, physical and logical controls as well as hardening mechanisms, such as hardware security modules (HSMs) have become necessary to ensure the integrity of a PKI.

 

What is Code Signing?

In public key cryptography, code signing is a specific use of certificate-based digital signatures that enables an organization to verify the identity of the software publisher and certify the software has not been changed since it was published.
Digital signatures provide a proven cryptographic process for software publishers and in-house development teams to protect their end users from cybersecurity dangers, including advanced persistent threats (APTs), such as Duqu 2.0. Digital signatures ensure software integrity and authenticity. Digital signatures enable end users to verify publisher identities while simultaneously validating that the installation package has not been changed since it was signed. All modern operating systems look for and validate digital signatures during installation, and warnings about unsigned code can cause end users to abandon installation.

 

What is a Digital Signature?

Digital signatures provide a proven cryptographic process for software publishers and in-house development teams to protect their end users from cybersecurity dangers, including advanced malware attacks. Digital signatures ensure the integrity and authenticity of software and documents by enabling end users to verify publisher identities while validating that the code or document has not been changed since it was signed.
Digital signatures go beyond electronic versions of traditional signatures by invoking cryptographic techniques to dramatically increase security and transparency, both of which are critical to establishing trust and legal validity. As an application of public key cryptography, digital signatures can be applied in many different settings, from a citizen filing an online tax return, to a procurement officer executing a contract with a vendor, to an electronic invoice, to a software developer publishing updated code.
Digital signing is also useful for organizations seeking to preserve business integrity by protecting copyright and facilitating licensing. For example, a company such as Microsoft can utilize singing to ensure its software cannot be issued by another company unaffiliated with Microsoft. Additionally, it is important for ensuring supply chain integrity and provenance of components. When coupled with public key infrastructure (PKI) it becomes a powerful tool for ensuring that software components are not tampered or tainted before being deployed in products or systems.

 

What is Time Stamping?

Time stamping is an increasingly valuable complement to digital signing practices, enabling organizations to record when a digital item—such as a message, document, transaction or piece of software—was signed. For some applications, the timing of a digital signature is critical, as in the case of stock trades, lottery ticket issuance and some legal proceedings. Even when time is not intrinsic to the application, time stamping is helpful for record keeping and audit processes, because it provides a mechanism to prove whether the digital certificate was valid at the time it was used. The growing importance of digital signing solutions has created a corresponding demand for time stamping, so many software programs, such as Microsoft Office, support time stamping capabilities.

 

The Importance of Security

If time stamping is to add real value, the time stamp must be secure.

 

Risks Associated with Insecure Time Stamping

  • The inability to trust electronic processes can result in costly paper trails to back up electronic records.
  • By manipulating a computer clock, an attacker can easily compromise a software-based time stamping process—thereby invalidating the overall signing process.
  • Insecure time stamping or digital signing processes can expose organizations to compliance problems and legal challenges.
  • Even after private signing keys and certificates have been revoked, users can still have access to them. Without time stamping, organizations cannot prove whether signatures were created before or after a certificate was revoked.
Chat Now